69 ARRAN RD, CRAWFORDVILLE, FL 32327 - PHONE: 850-926-0065 - FAX: 850-926-0123


Wakulla School District Announces New Leadership Positions for 2018-2019


June 11, 2018


Wakulla School District Superintendent Bobby Pearce recently announced new leadership positions for the 2018-2019 school year.


Current Crawfordville Elementary principal Belinda McElroy leaves her position to work at the District Office under Tanya English, Executive Director of Exceptional Student Education and Student Services. McElroy will serve as a Principal on Special Assignment.


McElroy will supervise expansion of the Wakulla Student Services office to include implementation of recently passed Florida Senate Bill 7026.  A portion of the bill states, “Before the start of the 2018-2019 school year, the Florida Department of Education will establish a youth mental awareness and assistance training program to train school personnel to better identify signs of mental illness in students and how to seek the proper treatment.”


Adds Superintendent Pearce, “In light of the recent school violence across our country, we are ramping up all of our school security and mental health services as mapped out in the state’s Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School Public Safety Act.”


In addition, Louis Hernandez takes the helm of Crawfordville Elementary School. He moves from CES Assistant Principal to Principal.


Alena Crawford will be Dean of Student Services at Crawfordville Elementary, filling the position vacated by Hernandez.  She leaves her current position at Wakulla High School as the WHS ESE Coordinator.


Catherine Cutchen moves to Riversink Elementary to work with Principal Simeon Nelson as the RES Dean of Students. She served previously as the Wakulla Middle School Associate Dean of Student Services.


Jessica Graverholt takes over as the WMS Associate Dean of Student Services to work with WMS Principal Tolar Griffin.  She has been an 8th grade English Language Arts teacher at WMS.


States Superintendent Pearce, “We are eager to put all the pieces in place for a successful and safe 2018-2019 school year.  Appointing these dedicated educators in new leadership positions is the first step in achieving that goal.”