69 ARRAN RD, CRAWFORDVILLE, FL 32327 - PHONE: 850-926-0065 - FAX: 850-926-0123


Prime Meridian Bank Sponsors Teacher of the Year Breakfast


Photo School-Level 2018 Teachers of the Year left to right: Nicole Dissmore, WMS; Kimberly Bartnick, CES; Cassandra Burnham, RES; Cary Gerrell, MES; District Teacher of the Year Kerry Adams, SES; Jennifer Thaxton, RMS; Kristi Keith, WHS; Superintendent Bobby Pearce (Photo by Rhonda Stevens)

Photo: Susan Payne Turner, Executive Vice President of Prime Meridian Bank 

March 26, 2018


The 2018 Wakulla County Teacher of the Year Breakfast to honor all of Wakulla’s public school teachers took place at Wakulla Middle School on Monday, March 26.


Prime Meridian Bank sponsored the event. Executive Vice President Susan Payne Turner and her staff decorated the WMS cafeteria and presented substantial cash gifts and gift baskets to the 2018 School-Level Teachers of the Year and the 2018 District-Level Teacher of the Year.


Prime Meridian also provided gift baskets for 16 Teachers of the Month.


“We were thrilled to be able to sponsor this event,” says Turner. “Professionally, I was happy to be a part of Prime Meridian supporting our educators.  Personally, both my parents were Wakulla educators, so I saw on a first-hand basis how hard teachers work.  Teachers never ask for recognition; therefore, Prime Meridian wanted to let them know how valuable they are to the success of not just the school district, but also the community as a whole.”


Turner adds, “The theme was Dr. Seuss because just as he left a legacy, educators leave a lasting legacy with each student they interact with.  Teaching is the only profession that lays the groundwork for every trade and profession there is.”


Shadeville Elementary teacher Kerry Adams is the 2018 overall District Teacher of the Year and will represent Wakulla County in July at the annual Florida Department of Education event in Orlando. There the Florida Teacher of the Year will be named from the 71 District Teachers of the Year.


The other seven outstanding Wakulla School-Level Teachers of the Year for 2018 are: LeNita Winkler for Wakulla Pre-K; Kimberly Bartnick for Crawfordville Elementary; Cary Gerrell for Medart Elementary; Cassandra Burnham for Riversink Elementary; Jennifer Thaxton for Riversprings Middle; Nicole Dissmore for Wakulla Middle; and Kristi Keith for Wakulla High School.


Says Superintendent Bobby Pearce, “These teachers and all of Wakulla County’s teachers are to be commended for the work they do every day to create exceptional learning environments for our children.  A special thanks to Executive Vice President Susan Payne Turner and Prime Meridian Bank for sponsoring the breakfast this year.  It means a lot to our children and educators that we have so much community support.”


Chief Academic Officer Sunny Chancy and the Instructional Services Department coordinate the Teacher of the Year program.