69 ARRAN RD, CRAWFORDVILLE, FL 32327 - PHONE: 850-926-0065 - FAX: 850-926-0123


Crawfordville Elementary and Riversprings Middle Earn Asthma-Friendly Schools Award

Asthma is one of the most common long-term diseases of children. The Florida Asthma Coalition recently bestowed a Bronze award to Crawfordville Elementary School and to Riversprings Middle School as two of only 16 schools in the state to earn an Asthma-Friendly School Award for the 2015-2016 school year.


The Center for Disease Control defines an Asthma-Friendly School as one that effectively serves children with asthma, plus educates others about the disease.


Specifically, an Asthma-Friendly School provides educational health services for students with asthma, ensuring that they take their medicines and learn to use them appropriately. In addition, the school provides asthma education which increases awareness for all students, staff, and families.


The school also provides a safe and healthy environment to reduce asthma triggers. Plus, safe and enjoyable physical education activities are provided for students with asthma.


According to the Florida Asthma Coalition, “The results of the hard work are a healthier student body, a reduction in chronic absenteeism and associated dropout rates. The impact of asthma education in schools can be lifesaving.”


In 2015-2016, Crawfordville Principal Angie Walker and Riversprings Principal Michele Yeomans embraced the idea of asthma education offered by the Florida Asthma Coalition, encouraging their faculties, staffs, and parents to join in on what students were learning in the classrooms and on the playing fields. They were provided with an “Asthma in the Schools” toolkit from the Florida Asthma Coalition in partnership with the Wakulla County Health Department and other entities across the state.


States Superintendent Bobby Pearce, “Any child we can help become healthier and any adult we can share this information with makes it worth taking advantage of a program like this. Congratulations to Crawfordville and to Riversprings for achieving this important award.”