69 ARRAN RD, CRAWFORDVILLE, FL 32327 - PHONE: 850-926-0065 - FAX: 850-926-0123


Wakulla County School Board Earns “Master Board” Distinction

Photo from left to right:  Superintendent Bobby Pearce, FSBA Coordinator of Professional Development Tina Pinkoson, Verna Brock, Melisa Taylor, Chairman Greg Thomas, Vice Chair Becky Cook, and Jo Ann Daniels

Photo by Rhonda Stevens

The distinction of “Master Board” was awarded to the Wakulla County School Board by the Florida School Boards Association (FSBA) Coordinator of Professional Development Tina Pinkoson at the January 19, 2016 Wakulla County School Board Meeting in Crawfordville.

The Wakulla County school district is one of only seventeen school districts in Florida to currently hold this prestigious award.

Members of the School Board, which is defined as the “leadership team” by the FSBA, are: Superintendent Bobby Pearce, Chairman Greg Thomas, Vice Chair Becky Cook, Verna Brock, Jo Ann Daniels, and Melisa Taylor.

All members of the Wakulla County School Board were additionally commended for 100 percent attendance at the twenty-two hours of training, thus receiving the impressive “Gold Star” designation. The Wakulla County leadership team is one of only six teams in the state ever to receive a special “Gold Star” plaque for this achievement, according to the FSBA.

The voluntary Master Board Program provides opportunities for the leadership team of the Superintendent and the School Board members to engage in training that increases its capacity to provide visionary leadership for a school district.

This program concentrates on the leadership team’s governance roles for enhancing student achievement; fostering connections and empowering collaboration between schools and the community; and creating a learning organization to advance excellence in public education.

The twenty-two hours of learning activities took place in both a statewide forum and in onsite trainings in Wakulla.